//
you're reading...
BES, BlackBerry, Errors, SQL

BlackBerry Enterprise Server (BES) 5: Issues Deleting a User

As I mentioned in my About page, one of the advantages of my position is that I’m not pigeon-holed into only performing traditional DBA tasks.  One of my projects was to manage the implementation and roll-out of BlackBerry devices, which can query the police database, for officers that patrol on foot or bicycles.

The other day, I had to remove a user from the BES and I got the following error message:

The request could not be completed

So, I went back and made sure to remove the assigned BlackBerry device and remove any links to that particular user but I still got the same message when I tried to delete the user.  Hence I decided to look at the log file for the BlackBerry Application Server (BAS).  That’s where I saw the following errors:

The DELETE statement conflicted with the REFERENCE constraint "FK_BASUserUAMReconciliations_BASUsers".
The conflict occurred in database "someBESDatabaseName", table "dbo.BASUserUAMReconciliations", column 'UserId'.


The DELETE statement conflicted with the REFERENCE constraint
"FK_BASUserApplicationNonReconciliations_BASUsers".
The conflict occurred in database "someBESDatabaseName", table "dbo.BASUserApplicationNonReconciliations", column 'UserId'.

It looked like the BES somehow had some orphaned records that were creating foreign key constraints issues, so I removed the the records from the tables with the correct corresponding UserID and I was able to remove the user successfully afterwards.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

